Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

From the very beginning of civilized world policy makers have sought several ways to reduce crime. While it is considered by many that the most effective means of reducing criminality is lengthy prison stay, other people think that crime can be decreased by some other means. In my opinion, I believe that crime can be prevented at the first place from happening and thus reducing it through proper education and community engagement than long term prison sentence.

On the one hand, some people think besides death penalty if someone is punished by long imprisonment like life sentence, then the rate of crime will reduce in the long run. The reason behind their thinking is these antisocial people then have no opportunity to be free in the society. As a result, they will not get the chance to commit crime and spread any influence on the future generation like children and youth adult through their manipulative behavior. Thus, it will ultimately reduce the crime from happening.

On the other hand, some others believe that imprisonment is not the best possible way to reduce crime and I agree. There are many crime offenders who suffer from drug addiction, mental health issues or antisocial character disorder which sometimes comes from abuse in family. If children get proper education during their upbringing from parents and school, it will not only lower down the number of crime but also prevent it from occurring at very first place. In addition, these potential high-risk group can be educated about the danger of becoming a law breaker. Another possible way of reducing crime would be launching community engagement service and addiction rehabilitation program for teenage and youth addicts. All these knowledge and strong community bonding will ultimately prohibit them to go in the dark path of crime, thus will decrease it.

In conclusion, although people may vary in their opinion on how to make the society a crime free place, I consider proper education and adequate community service of juvenile delinquents are two ways to reduce crime.