Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

We are now living in a modern world, and things are not like they used to be before. It is claimed by some people that we have so much options compared with past. Although I agree that there are more options available now than the old times, but I do not assume this statement is true in all cases.

To begin with, the fundamental reason which makes me favor of this idea is because of recent development in various fields. During the last years, researchers has achieved breakthrough in many aspects of science, and they have more knowledge about our world. Thus, due to the recent advancements, we have more options because the more choices come with more knowledge. Take communication as an example in early stages, the conventional way of communication between people was by fire and smoke until the invention of telegraph, and during the last years, with appearance of internet communication becomes so easy and more accessible. Respectively, we have so much ways to communicate with others like email, phone call and numerous messengers.

By focusing on the other hand, the reason why I take the opposing view of this statement is that there are less resources available. To be precise, there is an undeniable fact that the population of earth is growing with respect to the time, and the basic need of this people including food and housing must be satisfied. In order to do that, more lands, jungles and animals must be used to meet this need, so these resources are now more limited that they used to be before. Consequently, we have less options regarding of food and accommodation.

In conclusion, it is asserted that we have a variety of options today. Despite being a supporter of this idea, I do not think it is true all of the aspects of our life.