Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.To what extent do you agree or disagree to this statement?

Quite a few people hold the belief that we have a greater number of choices in the present day than we did in the past. In my opinion, I agree that we do have far too many options (more than we care to admit) now as opposed to before.

Take, for example, food: the most basic of necessities. A wide (and still expanding) variety is available for people of all ages, colors, ethnicities, etc. Nowadays, most capital cities in the world have an endless number of restaurants, which cater to different peoples' dietary or even religious preferences, be it vegetarian, gluten-free, Halal or kosher. Even once-simple categories such as drinks or dessert now come with their own menus! Yet it doesn't stop there, as humans continue to experiment with different types of cuisines, the list of picks will certainly grow.

Perhaps a more fundamental yet underappreciated aspect of life in which we have a large number of options than we did previously is healthcare. The rapid advancements in medical science and medical technology have given us a wide range of selections for not just locating and diagnosing maladies, but also dealing with them, from simple diseases such as influenza and the common cold, to even the more dangerous forms of cancer or AIDS. However, it is becoming increasingly clear that “more is not always better”. For instance, due to a large number of antibiotics prescribed for simple, self-containing illnesses, certain bacteria have gained resistance and are not affected anymore.

In conclusion, I concur that we do have a multitude of choices in the modern day, and while most of the time this bodes well, other times it may not.