Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

According to some people the modern life provides us with an overwhelming number of options. I completely agree with that point because I believe the era of the internet and globalization has given us an incredible amount of alternatives and this is both good and bad. On the one hand, it has made products available at cheap rates; on the other hand, it leads to impulse buying.

It is undeniable that the World Wide Web has led to dramatic availability of data and different services. Before the Internet information was a precious resource and people made efforts to gain it through books and education whereas currently we are rather forced to filter its stream so as not to get burdened by it. For example, earlier people used television with a limited choice of channels for entertainment while today we are able to watch whatever we like on demand and often for free.

Alongside the influence of the internet, technical advance and globalization have eliminated barriers in international trade and transportation. The wide choice of foreign food products and other goods has made people extremely consumerist and seeking the meaning of their life in new purchases. The availability of choices can also overwhelm people and may even lead to the purchase of the wrong product or service.

In conclusion, we are faced with a huge number of options in most areas of our life and they sometimes mislead us and make our choice too difficult. In order to avoid these disadvantages we should learn to recognize our real needs and values and make a right choice from the diverse options available.