Some people believe that in order to reduce crimes, prisoners should be given longer prison sentences while some people think there are other alternative ways. Discuss both these views and give you own opinion.

Nowadays, social safety is always one of the hottest topics among every citizen. there is a contention on whether prison is the most effective approach to reduce crime rate or there are some optional chooses. In my view, I believe that some ways are more effective solutions.

it is true that prison is the most common punishment in many countries. it has existed for thousands of years in the history of human beings. Indeed, prison is a practicable approach tp protect normal people from the danger of criminals. it limits the liberty of people who has legally proven to be harmful to other citizens. And it also can work as a deterrent, meaning that people avoid repeating the same offence. For example, since drunk driving people are sentenced to be in prison in China, this phenomenon has been rare to see for now.

However, I believe that longer prison cannot reduce the rate of crime effectively. Because is has no abilities to tackle the root causes of crime. many criminals, who commit thieving, cheating and robbery, are lack of school education, which makes it extremely difficult for them to find employment and earn their lives. Even worse, some of them attribute their unemployment to society and cultivate the anti-social personality. In order to raise themselves from poverty and revenge to whole society, they choose to commit some crimes and make damage to strangers.

In conclusion, longer prison might be effective to curb crime, but there are more viable ways. For instance, government can provide job training to people who accept poor education and create more employment vacancy. In other word, increasing the rates of employment is the essential approach to reduce crime rates.