Some people believe that to protect local culture, tourism should be banned in some areas whereas others think that change is inevitable and banning tourism will have no benefits. Discuss both sides and give your opinions.

In the world today, tourism is one of the most potential industries which many countries can make advantage of. However, it also can cause severe damage on the cultures. As a result, some people believe that the government should prohibit tourism in some areas with the aim of protecting cultures. Nevertheless, I wholeheartedly claim that this policy will take no effect on the inevitable change.

First and foremost, it is obvious that banning tourism can save some traditional cultures which have been driven to the verge of losing the meaning of themselves on the grounds that they are commercialized for profits. When the local are forced to work in tourism industry, many customs must be adjusted to adapt visitors’ tastes. Not the least of which is that that in peak tourism seasons, so many visitors are there that even a quiet village even the remote islands or some natural traditional sites such as ethnic villages in the mountains turn into a noisy market. Therefore, this policy can bring back the peace and diminish the amount of domestic garbage as well as the natural resources consumption.

Nevertheless, I totally agree that not only does this decision take not effect but it also has negative influence on the development of the nation. Initially, it can lead to another inning of economic crisis in some countries when tourism is the backbone industry. There will be fewer entrepreneurs, fewer job, which can lead to a sharp increase in unemployment. By the same token, the veto on tourism will be the main cause of the low living standard of local people on the grounds that there will be a significant fall on their income as well as the undeveloped public services.

Last but not least, utilizing tourism will be able to save those traditions which lack of money and labor for surviving. The government finds it impossible to renovate these historical sites due to the serious shortage of finance. Therefore, if there is a sustainable decrease in the number of visitors, these traditional skills and lifestyles along with a lot of authentic regions can not be impressively presented to international people and might soon be forgotten because of the lack of foreign investment.

To sum up, I strongly believe that tourism is an integral part of the development of each country. If tourism is restricted, the whole nation will be adversely affected.