Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

In most of the countries, giving assignment to students is a part of the education system. Some people believe that it is an unnecessary burden on students whereas others find it beneficial and consider it as an important part of learning. Though I agree that homework can sometimes be an unnecessary burden on young people, its importance cannot be underestimated. In this essay, I would examine both the sides of the arguments and present my own opinion.

Those who are against the homework argue that additional academic work at home puts extra burden on the student and leaves no room for their personal activities or for learning any additional skill. They opine that school children can focus on learning additional skills such as dancing, painting and signing etc. instead of spending time on homework. They further argue that learning other skills involve physical activities and it makes young boys and girls physically active. In addition, kids can spend their valuable evening time by talking with their parents and siblings or with neighbours. These activities are more important as it enhances their inter-personal and communication skills.

On the other hand, there are equally many numbers of people who think homework to be an integral part of education system. They believe that the homework after daily classes can effectively check the understanding of students. They make further submissions that it helps to develop independent learning and thinking skills in a student. These parents frequently point out that student who revises the lessons while doing homework generally understands the concepts better than other students.

In my opinion, although I believe that students need to have spare time for sports and outdoor activities, homework should be treated as part and parcel of quality education system. Therefore, in my conclusion, I would think that right balance between homework and sports are necessary in one’s life. However, it is unwise to suggest scrapping homework in entirety.