Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children.

Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is no doubt schools play a crucial role in educating children. However, while some people believe that teachers should not give children any work to be done at home, I would agree with those who argue that homework plays a crucial role in learning.

Firstly, children must indulge in activities outside of education. This is because most school-going people spend a sufficient amount of time sitting in classrooms which makes them tired and tedious. To revitalize themselves they need to spend time on recreational activities. Moreover, students feel pressurized when tasks such as homework are imposed on them in turn, making them feel less motivated and less driven towards learning. Recent research has shown that students who spend more time on homework had a decrease in academic performance.

However, I believe that homework can act as a catalyst for growth. Homework helps children develop study habits and makes them more independent and more responsible. To illustrate, with regards to being more independent, since children would try to work out the problems on their own, they would be more likely to tackle life problems easily. As for responsibility, children would have to plan to cater time for homework and playtime hence learning to be more self-disciplined.

In conclusion, although it is of critical importance that children spend time on things other than homework. I feel that such tasks can make them build organisational skills and take responsibility for their learning which is a significant factor for overall growth.