Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

People's opinions differ as to whether or not school children should be given homework. Despite some arguments against the setting of homework, I would argue that homework is an important aspect of education.

In some schools, students have so many assignments that they have little time left to spend on activities with their families and friends. Therefore, they may lack important skills such as communication and cooperation skills. In addition, that students have to complete a significant amount of homework in a short time may put pressure on children, making them suffer from various health problems such as sleep deprivation, headaches, or mental illnesses. Consequently, some people may claim that take-home work is not necessary because they not only do harm to children but also have no significant effects on kids' performance at schools. For example, though schools in Finland allocate no assignments to students, kids have great academic achievements, and this country regularly tops international educational league tables.

Although these above arguments may be true to some extent, I support the view that homework is indispensable in the schooling of children. Firstly, assignments allow students to develop essential life skills, some of which are critical thinking, time management, autonomy, and discipline. Due to the great number of homework kids have to finish, they have to arrange their time appropriately and be as disciplined as possible so that they can finish their work on time. Secondly, homework gives parents the opportunity to keep track of their children's academic progress, which permits them to gain insights into their kids' strengths and weaknesses in learning. This involvement will benefit students as it allows pupils to receive advice and timely adjustment in learning strategies from their parents. Thirdly, because kids retain roughly half of the information provided by teachers at schools, they need to apply this knowledge to do their homework in order to learn them thoroughly.

In conclusion, homework may have its drawbacks, but I believe that its advantages would outweigh them in the long term.