Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time . This can beneficial for teenagers and the community as well. Do you agree or disagree.

In America, when high students apply for universities, their volunteer records are an important part of their applications. This can implicate the great emphasis that is put on community service in the US. I fully agree with those that believe that this should be a must in high school education.

Doing voluntary work builds up one’s sense of responsibility. Whether it’s working for charities or teaching children sports, it all requires the students to be responsible. When high school students are given an extra job, they can understand what it feels like to be relied on and to be in charge, and will try hard to live up to others’ expectations. Therefore, they will develop a habit of doing their best to finish the work given to them, even the work without pay.

Giving back to the community also teaches students not to take everything for granted. The society has provided many services for high school students throughout their lives; community service is a great way to give back to the community and in turn do something for others. Also, high school students tend to be rebellious and are unsatisfied with what they already have. Community service allows them to understand that there are many others who are not as fortunate as they are, and that they should be grateful for everything life has given them.

However, a balance between extracurricular community work and school work should be achieved. When high school students have too much to handle, there is the possibility that they neglect the thing that they are less interested in, leading to either lower grades or lower quality in their community service, or in the worst-case scenario, both. In addition, if they chose work which they are not interested in or which does not suit them, students may find society work to be boring and unfruitful, and may be likely to do further work when they are adults and are able to do more.

In all, I think the advantages of unpaid community service being a compulsory part of high school programs outweighs the disadvantages. With teachers and parents acting as counselors, high school students can chose the voluntary work which can both help others and also benefit themselves.