Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Other, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for commmitting it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some people believe that each type of crime shoud have fixed punishment

but other people agree that the punishments have to base on the specific

situation. In my point of view, I inclined with the latter opinion which suggest

committing with the motivation and the circumstrances.

In the first point, there still exist fixed punishment for some crimes, like

death penalty for drug trafficking,.. This penalty will protect human rights and

also warn the criminal from committing a crime because the more harsd

punishment the more safety and security in social. Law is made for protecting

the innocent people and punish the wrongdoer but if apply the permanent for

each type of crime, it will remount the fundamental object.

In the latter view, they argue that shoukd always be taken into account

when deciding on punishment and I agree with this opinion. In multiple case, the

killer might be the victim since self – defence or robbery for feeding their

family. In this situation, the judge is the person who decide the best penalty base

on the condition of crime. But there also have bad sides for loose punishment

like increse the level of criminal. For example, in Korea, they have really bad

penalty for pendophilia which issue the high dangerous level of rape in this

country.

Summed up, even thought fixed punishment like life imprisonment or

death penalty can be beneficial for decrease of crime but the justice system have

to be more flexible and show the open – hand of law but still enough to dissuade

the citizen.