Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Punishments for crimes play a pivotal role in moulding the society towards an edified and better society. Every individual pay for his crimes according to the laws of the country.

While deciding on the punishment there is need to look at all the facets clearly. Sometimes the intention and motivation is totally opposite to the crime. We are living in a society where a lot of political and personal discrepancies result in involving the opponents in crimes which they have not committed. Keeping in view, such cases it is the need of the hour to take into account all aspects. There should be proper investigation before apprehending someone. For example, Nelson Mandela was a philanthropist and he was sentenced for several years because of his movements like civil disobedience. His aim was to achieve equal rights for the Black People and to uproot racism. All the proceedings against him were totally political. In his case, it was totally injustice to punish and treat him like other criminals.

If we want to eradicate evils like rape, assassination etc then it is necessary to have fixed punishments for such criminals. In order to maintain law and order in a society a criminal must have the fear for punishment that he will be given in case of a specific crime. Fixed punishments are also necessary to create a sense of equality between the poor and the rich. Everyone in a society should be punished for breaking the laws irrespective of its cast, creed and financial status. For example, Nawaz Sharif, the former PM of Pakistan is in jail. He is convicted for corruption charges and he will face all the procedures like common people in the society do. This will play a conspicuous role for enhancing people's confidence on law and to create a sense of fear against crimes.

To recapitulate, punishments play a preponderant part in any society for the sake of peace and serene ambiance. So, there should be a proper system of investigation regarding the decision of punishment.