Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that high school programmes should include compulsory unpaid community services, such as working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or training sports for kids surrounding them. I completely agree with this idea.

First of all, students at high school need to understand their responsibilities to social. At the age of sixteen, they could have legislative responsibilities to what they do. They should also share their knowledge, experiences that they have learned at the school to support developing communities. For instance, schools might organize some environmental programmes, such as cleaning the streets or promote for environmental protection. These actions can positively inspire everyone. So, non-profit communities services need to add in to high school programmes. Secondly, taking part in unpaid community services can help students prepare their experiences to further actions that are good for their future. They can learn a lot of soft skills from the activities that they do, such as team working, planning. Some sport training classes that they teach for younger children may help themselves being stronger, limiting the sedentary lifestyle that many young people have. My younger sister and her classmates enjoy teaching badminton for street children at the weekend, so they are always happy and have much positive energy. Thus, unpaid community services bring to students at high school many advantages.

In conclusion, I believe that high school should be forced to add unpaid community services to their programmes as volunteer activities, developing the neighbourhood or teaching kids playing some sports because high school students need to have responsibilities to social, and they also get many benefits from those activities.