Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

These days, there has been an ongoing argument that voluntary activities should be an obligation for students in high school. I take the view that this idea is relatively reasonable except in several cases.

In my belief, there are a plethora of benefits to this idea. First, since participating in community service give pupils more chance to explore the world surrounding them which in turn stimulate their curiosity or enrich their understanding. The teenager, for example, will never know thoroughly about how vivid nature is until they joint the conservation campaigns, which provides practical observations. This evidence supports the view that these activities are enormously rewarding for the learning of students. Second, by implementing this idea, the school could educate their student how to be good citizens and show their respects to society. Indeed, teaching a child to be a good citizen is not simple; thus, adding voluntary work into the curriculum could not only raise the awareness of the significance of their help but also inspire them to devote more to society.

However, apart from the concerned merits above, this trend still has some drawbacks. Students are prone to be more stressed involving these voluntaries in addition to some obstacles they confront in their study. If the school apply these activities without considering deliberately, it will trigger some issues such as the severe disputes of parents in virtue of their belief that their offsprings need more time to unwind. Therefore, holding voluntary activities should be proportionate to ensure enough leisure to enjoy their own lives.

All in all, the minor disadvantages will never prevent us from concluding that participating compulsorily voluntary work is not excessive, but extremely useful.