Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

How school education should be enriched has always been a controversial issue. It is claimed that unpaid community service had better be a mandatory part of high school education. It would appear to be a beneficial idea.

Generally speaking, there are a wide variety of reasons why people believe that voluntary work ought to be included in high school education. Perhaps, the key supporting argument is that they learn essential life skills this way. For example, having to do both homework assignments and these extracurricular activities will result in the fact that they will learn how to prioritize their tasks and manage their time. This is highly important in their future life, when they have to fulfill both their domestic and occupational responsibilities. Moreover, they can reap the benefits of the experiences gained in these activities, specially communication with others, in their careers. In other words, if an individual knows how to communicate with colleagues and clients before entering a job, they can progress quickly in their career. Therefore, the more voluntary work is included in educational programs, the more benefits students can derive.

However, it must be noted that this idea has several disadvantages. Perhaps, one of the most important of these is that as the activities are not diverse enough, they can not fulfill all the students' interests. This means that if an individual does a task which they do not like, they can not benefit from it.

In conclusion, it is clear that the content of educational curriculums has a profound impact on the students' abilities. I am of the opinion that unpaid community service should be included in high school education. If it turns into an obligatory part of education, individuals will be prepared appropriately for their future life.