Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unpaid community service has been included in some high schools’ curriculums. While some people believe in the significance of this compulsory section, others support the idea that this service type should be optional. This essay will discuss both sides and offer my view.

Many advantages of requiring no-reward community service can be seen. The skills and personality development it can bring to students are the first. While communication and organizing abilities can be improved through coordinating a charity activity or a neighborhood cleanup, coaching little kids to play soccer for example may help pupils gain a better understanding of themselves and others thus learning about patience and tolerance. Besides the individual’ benefits, having high school students volunteer as a part of their education may have a huge impact on various parties. Thanks to free extra staff, nonprofits and neighborhood-benefiting organizations can save a great deal of money which might ultimately result in more funding for their actual missions. Furthermore, the teenagers’ relentless energy and open-mindedness could contribute to the community programs’ outcome.

Opponents, on the other hand, argue that unpaid mandatory social service has several disadvantages. First of all, any time spent on service needs to be rewarded especially if schools require students to make consistent commitments to such activities. It may be fair for children to earn something in return. Also, it can be difficult for educators and parents to include this type of service. The variety of the events’ locations, the different priorities each school has and every student’s interests could interfere with the process. In brief, no-reward social service can be considered unfair for students and challenging for other parties involved. Compared to the benefits such service can bring to both students and larger social groups, these advantages are not as equal.

Overall, high school programs that include compulsory community service have gained increasing popularity due to their comprehensive effect. From my perspective, we should have our children be familiar with this extra-curriculum as early as possible. However, to achieve the best results, their interests and matching rewards such as school recognition need to be taken into account.