Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

According to some people, school authority should make voluntary work a part of their high school education. I strongly agree with the statement and believe that this will enable students to learn different skills and helping deprived people.

To start with, We cannot ignore the fact that, no skill is wasteful. By doing different types of compulsory work like cooking, giving sports training will help them develop that particular skill which can be useful in the future. For instance, if anyone wants to help someone repair their fence then they need to learn how to repair it, so this will force them to acquire that skill in the first place.

On top of that, there are some remote areas where government service does not reach. Such as Island of Saint-Martin in The Bay of Bengal, where it is hard for the government to reach because of it's remote location from the mainland. Especially an area like this tend to depend on voluntary services like. If we ignore the charity work, then all of a sudden these places will become unlivable. By not encouraging voluntary work the result in these areas can be catastrophic.

Furthermore, every country does not possess an equal amount of wealth. Even there are countries who are unable to maintain it's people. In fact, some people do not receive any benefit from the government. Voluntary work in that particular area can be extremely helpful. To illustrate, a country like Somalia, where helping elderly people to find work or providing free medical service is essential.

Doing voluntary work at high school is invaluable to society, and to the individual. I would reiterate that this should be practised all over the world.