Some people believe that a vertical city in which people work and live in tall buildings is a good idea. Others say that horizontal living is better. Discuss both views and express your opinion.

Undoubtedly, nowadays due to shortage of land and increase in population, skyscraper buildings are booming day by day in a city side, whereas in the countryside still many people prefer to live in a horizontal house. While, personally, in my point of view both have its own merits and demerits, which I will enunciate below.

To begin with, there are no doubt builders who construct the buildings buy a small land and to earn large profits, they construct the tall buildings at one go. In many countries, these kinds of buildings are eminent and used for office and living purpose because of shortage of land. For instance, I am staying in Hong Kong on the 29th floor and complete building has 35 floors. Moreover, nowadays people hold the opinion that all those people who stay on the higher floors are safe from noise pollution and air pollution compared to those who lives on the lower floors of the building. However, tall buildings have its own disadvantages such as in case of lifts predicament, it is really strenuous for everyone to use the staircase. Moreover, in case of fire, for example, it would be difficult and unsafe for fire exits.

On the other hand, some people prefer to live in horizontal buildings which have its own advantages. Firstly, there is no need to spend extra amount on lifts and escalators. Moreover, due to this there is saving on electricity bills, which in turn save energy. Secondly, the small house is safe in case of risks which are caused by natural calamities such as earthquake. Finally, a ventilation system is much better in the small buildings compared to high buildings.

To recapitulate, there is no doubt that tall building is equally important like small building due to scarcity of land. Nevertheless, both have its own pros and cons and it totally depends upon the place where buildings are constructed.