Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Travelling is undoubtedly the best way to experience cultural diversity. While some people are of view that visitors should follow local customs and traditions, other suggest that host countries welcome cultural diversity. In my opinion, the best traveling experience is the combination of both aspects. In the following essay we will discuss both points of views.

Firstly, there is a popular saying “when in Rome, do as Roman’s do”. Main purpose of travelling is to take time out of routine life to experience new foods and customs. It is way to see different things rather than promoting one’s own ideas. For example, all the travel writers mentions about the culture of the countries they are visiting, there experience with new foods that have never been tasted before and certain other parts of culture. Secondly, some of cultural practices are considered taboo for other cultures. For instance alcohol is prohibited in Islamic countries and some strict laws regarding eating. One should respect these kinds of restrictions during travelling.

On the other hand, there some instances where host countries welcome the cultural differences. For example during the festival season like Christmas and Easter, different people around the world gather and share their own ways to celebrate the time. This is in regards to food and practices. Different cultural exhibition around the worlds also welcome people to come and display their local product and customs to promote different culture. Like in Pakistan there is an industrial exhibition with stalls from various countries showing their crafts .Spain had a recent technological conference where students and inventors were invited to visit from all over the world to showcase their products.

In conclusion, both aspects have their own value. In my opinion the best traveling experience should have cultural exchange from both visitors and host countries provided there are no restrictions. In future, the government needs to give special incentives to people who cannot afford travelling and thus are not able to experience joys of travelling.