Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Visiting other nations has become popular recently. There’s a debate about whether local customs and behavior should be followed. This essay will discuss both sides of the issue and offer my view.

There are several reasons supporters might suggest. Traveling for pleasure is often the main purpose for the majority of visitors. They want to escape from their daily lives with responsibilities and be immersed in a new and exciting culture. Secondly, local customs and behavior are unspoken rules to ensure any society’s stability. Without complying these, foreigners can get into trouble. For instance, visitors to the USA may be considered rude if they ask for a woman’s age or someone’s salary. These are private matters American people rarely share with people they don’t know very well. In brief, the travelers’ respect for the local culture can result from their initial interest in learning about this new culture. More importantly, it can help them to do well while they’re there.

However, opposers have their own arguments. First of all, it’s easier said than done. Visitors need to follow the present culture’s values but in reality, even the locals are not fully aware of all the social cues themselves. Furthermore, problems travelers can get into because of misunderstandings could be prevented. One of the effective ways might be doing better research on the destination’s culture and getting advice from people who have been there before. Another reason to promote cultural differences is the benefits these people can bring. It could be their knowledge, skills, or experience. This can be seen in a great deal of international scientific conferences and expert trip invitations that occurred. In such cases, local people will listen and willing to accommodate their visitors’ needs. Besides, countries like Vietnam where tourism plays an essential role might benefit by showing friendliness and tolerance. This can lead to bigger economic gains in the long run. To sum up, respecting cultural differences brings more good than harm to the host country.

In conclusion, both views have their own reasons. In a particular situation like Vietnam, it will be in our best interest to maintain a balance. We only interfere if serious harm to our values is going to be done by an outsider and for the rest, we should show empathy and understanding.