Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour. Other disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Thesedays, with the development of society, travel oversea is increasingly popular. This has led to a lot of problems involving the preservation of local customs. Some people say that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behaviour, while there are others argue that different cultures should be welcome in the host country. In this essay, I will look at both sides of the argument and give my opinion.

On the one hand, it is widely accepted that understanding the beliefs, traditions, habits and custom of the host country is the great way to travel across this country. For example, in Saudi Arabia - an Islamic country, visitors should dress discreetly instead of trying to be fashionable with short skirts or shoulder strap dress, which shows your respect to the traditions and culture here. When everyone get use to the customs, they will find the culture of the host country more enjoyable and easier to approach to. Besides, by trying traditional cuisines, join traditional festivals,… people can broaden their horizons.

On the other hand, there are many people keep their own traditions while visiting other countries. To some extent, local people should try to accept this for the reason that visitors find it challenging to the new customs. Tourists will be more comfortable, confident and socialize if they keep their own customs and beliefs in a new environment. Moreover, by accepting the new traditions, local citizens can improve their knowlegde, enrich the cultural basis of their country. As well as that, it helps them to make some changes to attract travellers and boost the tourism development.

To sum up, the argument works both way. Although it is undeniable that accepting different cultures helps with the visitors while they are in a new place, I hold the view that indigenous customs and traditions should be respected and followed by all the tourists.