Some people believe that when designing a building, the most important thing to be considered is the function rather than the outward appearance. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that the real estate market plays an essential role in our economy in recent years, and the building’s function is much more important compared to its exterior. While I accept that this may suit many companies, I believe that others base designing an architecture on appearance more than the function.

On the one hand, there is no doubt that a proper function-based design brings many benefits for suppliers and consumers. Firstly, almost people want to experience a construction which is safe and comfortable. For instance, shopping malls would attract more customers if they possess a wide walkway, a good lighting system and adequate emergency exits. Secondly, each building has its own practical use, so it should be designed with a view by the professional architects to fulfill users’needs. Take a theatre as an example, it has a well-designed sound system and a sufficient seating capacity so that everyone in the audience can conveniently enjoy movies or shows.

On the other hand, the spectacular outer space is also one of the prime factors which create many enormous commercial values. First and foremost, consumers tend to choose a place having a significant structure, which could pay attention to them. Royal City could be appealing towards more people, especially on the Christmas day, as they fell in love at the first side via its splendid decoration. In addition, some buildings representing the history of the city are necessary to be beautiful from outside. To be specific, Hanoi Opera House has long been considered a Vietnamese cultural site, so maintaining its attractive exterior is undoubtedly an essential task.

In conclusion, it is certainly true that the function is the first concern for some people when constructing an architecture, but this is by no mean that the gorgeous appearance is not important.