Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for government to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

It is the requirement of times to improve our recycling habits. Some individuals speculate that we are not recycling as much as we should be, especially the household items.They believe that perhaps the governments should step should step in and make laws that force individuals to become more responsible. Is it really needed though? We shall discus this below.

First of all, the creation of new legislation regarding recycling will make people more accountable. While in majority of cases the psychological impact alone may prove to be enough, the fines and punishments in cases of disobedience also make people more answerable. This is evident from very efficient reprocessing and reusing techniques in countries of China and Japan because their governments strictly enforce environmental laws. The essence of it all is that rules and regulations are quite effective in improving recycling standards.

Second and more important reason is that it is absolutely essential to effectively recycle in order to have a clean,healthy and safe environment. That I believe can be achieved if leaders and politicians do their job properly. The less waste is produced, so less of it ends up in landfills, water bodies and air. Although results are not immediate, scientific data shows huge long term improvements in coming decades. Studies suggest that Chinese cities show significant climatic betterment after the introduction of legislature pertaining to home-recycling and sustainability. So it is crucial to have government intervention to save our planet.

In conclusion, I agree to a great extent that administrative mediation is necessary to increase awareness about recycling and climate change that is associated with it. Even though there are obvious benefits, I don't support any law that infringe upon basic human rights. So it has to be done carefully and meticulously.