Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

There is an ongoing controversy about whether the government should make the waste recycling a legal requirement for the residents. Someone disagrees with this idea, claiming that it people should not be limited the right to choose their own solutions. However, in my opinion, I think it’s better for the government to make it a law for several reasons.

First, with the law, it is easier to manage the waste from domestic use. These days, the residential areas are scatter all over the city, making it’s harder to get the management done effectively. For instance, in the past century, people in Thailand tended to live near the rivers, but now, as the city grows, people can live anywhere. So the authorities, who are responsible for waste management, have to work at many areas, spending more time to deal with the problems. So, it would be easier for the government to impose the law about recycling the waste, which can reduce the complexity in waste management.

Second, resident’s recycling can create financial benefits to the country. Instead of investing on new waste incineration plants to serve the increasing waste from the increasing population, enforcing people to recycle their own trashes help the country save the costs. In some area, where is very crowded, the incineration’s capacity cannot cover the volume of waste needed to be eliminate, leaving the wastes unclear and creating the pollution to the city. This problem won’t happen if the resident is responsible for their own wastes. Clearly, it’s better to make the recycling the law requirement.

In conclusion, there’re many advantages of imposing the law about waste recycling. It makes the government easier to manage the waste and it has financial benefit to do so. Therefore, I am strongly convinced that law requirement for recycling the waste is needed.