Some people do not go directly to college but travel or work for a short time. Do you think it has more advantages or disadvantages?

The pattern of gap years among graduated secondary students has been sparking significant controversy in recent decades due to its considerable effects on their post-secondary progress. Although the advantages could be pronounced, the disadvantages could justify these.

On the one hand, this trend could fraught with many pitfalls.First, academic procrastination means the reduction in students’ exposure to academic knowledge. This would be obstacles for the acquisition of new post-secondary knowledge, leading to decreased academic attainments. Second, due to young individuals’ typical immaturity and indiscretion stemming from inadequate life experience, they could easily be induced into social evils when it comes to gap-year traveling. For example, many Vietnamese students have been susceptible to drug abuse because of indiscriminately making friends with drug cartels in masquerade as local tour guides, which could cost them significant time in rehabilitation centres before top-tier education.

On the other hand, it is true that delaying post-secondary education for traveling or working purposes could have many benefits. First, by traveling to different regions either worldwide or nationwide, students could interact with a myriad of different cultures, followed by various but unique customs. These practices could stimulate students’ practical skills of curiosity, and activeness, which are of vital importance in making progress in tertiary education. In addition, if young individuals decide to embark on part-time occupations in gap years, they could earn remarkable amount of money for post-secondary education tuitions. This would partly release students from the burdens of student loans, acting as such contributors to their full academic concentrations instead of incurring the loan pressures on a daily basis.

In conclusion, gap years bestow both upsides and downsides equally. However, it is highly recommended that students should balance and organize the delaying time appropriately in order to address the problems aforementioned.