Some people enjoy living in vertical cities while others prefer horizontal cities.

Discuss both view and give your opinion.

The issue of whether it is more enjoyable to settle in low-rise or high-rise buildings remains a source of controversy. While there is a strong case for the former view, I am more inclined to the latter.

Those in favour of low-rise structures would state their main reasons as follows. The first and foremost explanation would be that these structures provide people with more open space to pursue their interests. For instance, private houses often include a own garden where people, especially the elderly, can do gardening or raise pets, which might benefit their mental health. Moreover, it is also believed that city dwellers would easily find escape routes in case of emergency. When in a fire or other dangerous circumstances, they can get out of their homes and save themselves, or even others’ lives.

I would advocate with those who contend that high-rise structures have three advantages. First of all, it is more secure to live in an apartment. This is the result of a high-tech security system monitoring the whole building, which can also be considered as a deterrent against burglars. Therefore, security will be fortified and residents will feel safer. Another noticeable benefit of living in high-rise buildings is that they provide people greater convenience. Since these high-rising complexes include a wide range of facilities such as supermarket or school, it is possible for people to get around to shop, entertain and even study within walking distance. Finally, as many households share the same land area, we will save a great deal of space so that land resources can be allocated for infrastruture and public facilities such as health centers or schools.

In conclusion, although it is true that a horizontal city has enormous benefits, I am more inclined to complex structures because of their convenience and practicality.