Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, there are individuals who argue that the renovation of city infrastructure such as building skyscrapers should be carefully monitored by the government whilst some people claim that the funding entity should also have the chance to design according to their preference. I will delve into both sides to discuss, followed by my final insight.

On the one hand, it is acceptable that the sole authority for designing new infrastructure in grand capitals should be claimed by governments according to the following reasons. Firstly, it is the government that has the information access to all crucial components of a city, whereby it can detect the places in need of better transportation or fixation in the drainage system, and even potential places to be tourism spotlights. These are the statistic figures that cannot be coped by the fundraisers alone for obvious reasons. In addition, there can be enterprises that consider only their commercial interest instead of sustainable urban development which explains that government intervention, or even control in extreme cases, is necessary to some extent. To cite an example, the government of Yangon carries out a strict and careful approach in dealing with tourism projects near the heart of Yangon, Shwedagon Pagoda since building many skyscrapers in the vicinity of the pagoda can bring negative impact to the sustainability of the soil underneath the pagoda.

On the other hand, those who argue that the fundraising actors should have a voice in construction processes are based on the following factors. To begin with, transparency is vital in urban development which prohibits the governments from being corrupted and allows room for more innovative ideas. The whole process of building grand infrastructures in crowded cities is quite intricate since it involves the interest of both government and the private sectors. Providing a large sum of money, it is reasonable for the funding businesses to claim a role in designing or implementing the construction project. Moreover, productive cooperation between the governments and fundraising entities results in a more fruitful outcome than the decision carried out by governments alone.

To conclude, demanding for larger involvement of the individuals who provide the funding in urban development activities is seemingly acceptable and beneficial not only because it will be sharing the burden with the government but also ensure more rooms for development, while the interference of government should be considered in some suspicious projects.