Some people feel that the design of newly constructed buildings in big cities should be controlled by governments. Others believe those who finance the construction of a building should be free to design it as they see fit.

In constructing a building in a big city, some people believe that governments should control it, while others prefer to construct the building, freely in design, based on the patron will. In this essay, I will discuss their rational backgrounds and later I will share my own opinion.

It is commonly known that the government of a city has a strategic plan in developing the city. The strategy must be divided into sort, medium and long term strategies. In the long term strategy, it is possible for the government to plan a beautiful city with good shape and neat. It is something that cannot be reached if there is no standardization to construct a building. By authority of the government, it is possible for the government to make a standard building, especially in their appearances, colour, and height of the building. City in Italia, in my opinion, is a good example of a city which has a good plan to develop a city.

On the other hand, people who argue that the design of a building should base on the patron will usually because they do not want to limit their imagination. Furthermore, a building that has to follow the government standard will be lost a uniqueness of the building. In addition, the patron of a building usually has a different budget that they allocated to construct a building. Therefore it is hard for them to construct a standard appearance building.

To sum up, the government who want to make standardization in a building has a futuristic plan not only for the building but also for the city. Therefore, in my opinion, it is good for the private sector to follow the rule. If the patron cannot follow the rule due to the financial condition, I think the government should give any subsidise to them particularly in supporting the building appearances.