Some people feel that sports are necessary to college education because they teach team work and other skills. Others feel that sports are a waste of money in college because athletes do not learn anything useful. What do you think?

Sports play a vital role in developing many personality traits as well as social and moral values. For this reason, many people think that to rear these qualities in students, sports should be made an integrated part of college curriculum. However, as far as I am concerned, I agree with another opinion that sports have no place in college since it is the wastage of money as well as time.

College is a place where students come to study academic subjects. They need help and guidance of proficient teachers to comprehend and interpret difficult topic. Thus, it becomes the responsibility of both teachers and college authorities to expend money to upgrade teaching tools and to innovate new strategies to help students get desired goals and academic results, instead of wasting that expenditure on sports’ coaches, instruments; and the construction of big stadiums. However, it is obvious that educational institutions can help students better by preparing them to achieve academic excellence.

Likewise, the students who have aptitude for sports can hone their skills by joining an institution that provides dedicated training in this field. These training institutions are designed with the sole purpose of sports education. Moreover, they hire trained teachers who can help students diagnose their weaknesses and strengths. Meanwhile, college can deploy this time for studies and vocational training that would give students practical knowledge in their field. This knowledge will help them to get lucrative jobs along with efficiency in their profession.

To conclude, it is irrefutable that sports are of paramount importance in students’ lives, but it is not the responsibility of college. Instead, educational organizations should focus more on academics by utilizing its resources for educational purpose rather than physical education.