: Some people feel that young people should follow the traditions of their society. Others, however, believe that young people should be free to behave as individuals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is true that youngsters should live according to the traditions of society. However, I believe that the young generations should follow their own beliefs and be their true selves. In this essay, I will discuss two sides of the argument and provide reasons for my view.

To begin with, these traditions are often formed by the previous generations who have gained a lot of experience throughout history. Consequently, they are true to some extent. For example, we should wear black clothes to funerals to show our respect to the people who passed away. On top of that, if we do not follow society’s traditions, we are up against prejudice. To be specific, the likelihood of us being bullied at schools or mistreated at workplaces is more significant.

However, I support the view that young people should act the ways they would like. Firstly, in my opinion, the best way to lead a happy life is to be our true selves. If we force ourselves to follow the crowd to be socially accepted, we will never achieve fulfillment in our lives. Therefore, we should not be terrified to express who we are to the world. Secondly, creativity enhances as a result of free expression among young people. As when we can behave freely, we are motivated to create more innovative ideas, which contribute significantly to the development of society. For instance, being able to live with her true self as a lesbian, Ellen DeGeneres has created her own talk show through which she has raised funds to support underprivileged but kind-hearted people.

In conclusion, although not following the traditions can result in great pressure from the public, I would argue that it is crucial to live according to our intuitions.