Some people point out that there will be less international travel in the future. Do you think it is a positive or negative trend?

It is said that there would be less cross – country travel in the near future due to the reason that the turmoil happens on sectors of the planet. While some people claim it is a positive trend, I whole-heartedly believe that it puts negative effect on the nation’s economy and culture as well.

First and foremost, reducing international travel has an adverse effect on some countries where tourism is the backbone industry. There will be fewer entrepreneurs, less jobs which lead to the alarming rate of unemployment. Besides, not the least of which is the low living standard of individuals on the grounds that there is a sharp decrease in their income as well as the undeveloped public services. Therefore, it is more likely to cause another inning of economic crisis in countries like Malaysia or Thailand, and inevitably, economy would be hindered on a global basis in today’s globalised world.

Apart from that, utilizing international tourism is an effective way to save the national cultures. In some developing countries, the government does not have adequate money as well as conditions to renovate traditional buildings or areas. As a consequence, if there is a significant fall in the number of cross-border visitors, there will be fewer foreign investments in these places, which can make traditional lifestyles or authentic regions soon be forgotten.

Last but not least, citizens will be incapable of nourishing mutual understanding of people from distinct culture backgrounds when transnational tourism is diminished. People will find it impossible to gain deep knowledge about other traditions, philosophies and languages as well as develop a close bond between different regions from all over the world. This fact may create conflicts at times when differing beliefs collide since they do not understand about each other’s tradition, which can make foreigners subjected to custodial sentences and form cultural tension.

In summary, it is undeniable that international tourism is the lifeblood of the countries’ development. Many nations will be negatively affected when there is less cross-border travel in the future.