Some people prefer shopping in shopping centers while others prefer local markets. What are the advantages of each? Which shopping experience do you prefer?

The shopping places which are considered to be increasingly more popular than outdoor markets are supermarkets and shopping malls. On the one hand, there are a number of advantages to shopping in malls. However, on the other hand, hardly would shopping malls completely replace local markets any time soon.

To assess the reason why people are seemingly attracted to shopping centres, we must bring their benefits into focus. Assuming food quality was a safety concern of a buyer, she would feel reassured doing the shopping at supermarkets due to the fact that the goods must meet the strict government regulations. Being organized into aisles and having a cleaning person, supermarket stock, especially foodstuff, is more hygienic compared to those at street markets. It is also the categorization of shelves which makes it easier for shoppers to find what they are looking for. Moreover, in financial terms, not only are there special offers every now and then, which is friendly for the customer’s budget, but payment can be made using plastic money or e-wallet as well.

Although so far, one can readily draw the conclusion that going shopping at malls is more convenient, we must take into account the pros which traditional markets have to offer before judging which one is better than the other. As a result of the lower space lease and tax, as well as hiring cost, the price per item at markets is less expensive than that at supermarkets. On top of that, buyers have the freedom to negotiate the price and reach an agreement that is reasonable to both of the sellers and the buyers. Another appealing characteristic of open-air markets is that all of the foods and vegetables are fresh. This is because they are directly picked and delivered from the farms or seaports and sold only during the day.

Putting both sides into perspective, I arrive at the conclusion that local markets seem more attractive to me. What I care about most when I do my weekly shopping is whether the foods I will be eating are fresh and whether they are within my budget.