Some people say that the best way to improve public health is by increasing the number of sports facilities. Others, however, say that this would have little effect on public health and that other measures are required. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Public health and how to improve it have been a regular debate for years. While some people promote sports facilities as the number one solution, others suggest that different ways need to be taken. This essay will discuss both and offer my view.

There are a few reasons why supporters might be right. First is the wide-reaching level of sports facilities for people. For example, there is an increasing number of people who prefer to go to gyms due to their convenient locations and the variety of equipment. Furthermore, such sports places can provide people with knowledge and expertise in exercises and physical health scientifically. To attract customers to use their services, it makes sense for companies or owners to hire qualified health professionals such as personal trainers, dietitians, and sometimes even doctors. Through these staff, people who go to these facilities can get access to reliable tips and techniques to work on any problems they may have. These can vary from endurance, strength, flexibility to high blood pressure, or high level of fat in the body. In brief, sports facilities could be an effective center to promote public health because of its ability to provide people on a large scale with an expert staff.

On the other hand, opponents have their arguments as well. First of all, most sports facilities require a certain fee to operate and not everyone is able to afford it. Besides essential living expenses like rents and food, there are also numerous self-guided workout videos and shows on Youtube and other channels on the Internet. In addition, people’s daily lives are usually packed with many responsibilities ranging from work, school, family, friends...This sometimes makes it more difficult to set time aside to spend 30 minutes driving to a gym and another 30 to an hour running treadmills. As a result, increasing the number of facilities is clearly not enough to improve people’s health. For this to happen, it takes the cooperation of different parties. On a larger scale, governments need to raise public awareness of how taking care of our health is beneficial in the long run. Making more money, getting good scores might give an instant reward but without health, nothing can be achieved. Also, if companies really aim to prosper sustainably, it is crucial for every employee to look and feel their best since, at the end of the day, it’s the humans that build a company, not the other way around.