Some people say that computer skill should be added to primary school subject in elementary school such as reading, writing and mathematics. Do you agree or disagree?

There is a need for technological skills to be acquired by school children through their curriculum. From my own perspective, I agree that computer skills should be introduced in elementary schools.

Firstly, there is no doubt that the inclusion of computer skill in primary schools would help the pupils improve how they learn. For instance, using technology to learn subjects such as reading, writing and even mathematics would broaden their learning capabilities. Thus, speeding up the amount of time it takes to learn a subject through computer. In addition, audio-visual learning have been proven to be very effective in schools. That is, learning via a screen which is accompanied by sounds. Furthermore, it makes education easier for pupils than what it was decades ago. Thereby, preparing them and equipping with knowledge and likewise with essential skills which will be useful to them as adults. Also, computer skills gives them the confidence to look up information quicker on the internet.

Secondly, in the real world, most organisations uses technology for their day to day business activities. Young adults who acquire technological skill as an elementary pupil will be more employable than one who doesn't have the experience. For example, if a group of youngsters go for a job interview in a company. The ones with computer skills are likely to come out successful in the interview than those who don't. This is as a result of of the computer skills that was acquired. Moreover, employers would rather employ those who already have computer skills as substantial amount of money will be saved from having to train those who don't.

Finally, I do agree that inclusion of computer skill in elementary schools in every subject as suggested by some people will benefit the pupils and the general society as a whole. As every learned person will have the capability to use this technology and progress in their chosen careers.