Some people say that excessive noise should be a criminal offence. While other say that they should be free to make noise without limitation.

It argued that making excess noise should be categorised as a criminal offense, whilst others perceive that people should be permitted to make any noise they want. This essay will discuss both of the arguments and state my own opinion.

The most obvious logic of making noise pollution a punishable offence is the adverse effect it has on put health. it is responsible for anxiety, sleep deprivation and other chronic diseases. Apparently, these problems may not look like a serious health concern, but these health conditions are the onset of many other diseases. In other words, these tolerable health issues of today may bring more serious health problems tomorrow. Furthermore, the effect of sound is more acute for infants and elderly people, because they are physically incapable of withstanding excessive noise. For example, a recent research revealed that excess noise, especially in big cities are responsible for numerous types of health issues at later part of our lives. This example exemplifies that noise has a long term effect on our health. Therefore, when something is directly impacting our lives should be prevented at any cost.

On the other hand, it is true that noise is not good for our health, but we cannot ignore the fact that we cannot live our lives noise free. That is to say that if we try to eliminate sound totally from our lives, that would not be possible. For instance, horns of the cars are a major sound polluter; it will not be possible to make it a punishable offence, because for most developing countries do not follow traffic rules properly, and using horn unavoidable. Thus, seemingly it looks like we cannot make this as a criminal offense without creating a clear cut solution for the problem.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that noise cannot be eradicated because we do not have a straight forward solution for this. However, as this issue is related to our health, it should be a criminal offense. It may not give us a complete solution, but it will surely bring the effect down.