Some people say that governments should spend money on measures to save languages that are used by few speakers, while others believe it's a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The topic of whether the governments should invest money on saving the minority languages is of concern for many people. Some believe that it will benefit the cultural diversity while some others hold the different opinion. As for me, I strongly agree the former.

Those who assert minority languages hold the following reasons. Firstly, saving a language is one way to preserve the local culture. As a distinct language is generated with the progress of social development, it can highly represent the unique culture of a country, thereby ensuring the speakers to recognise their own identities without feel like abandoned. Secondly, these languages can be very useful for academic study. In order to investigate the origin and evolution of a nation, its language is always appealing to historians as it contains the wealth of the tradition. Many scholars are willing to put effort on digging out the values and assets of the languages.

However, there are people insist that it is a waste of money to take measure on saving the languages with few speakers. To start with, the languages which have lost the communicative purposes will disappear eventually. Compared with the most widely spoken languages such as English, Chinese and Spanish, minority languages are not always used to convey information and express ideas. Therefore, it is not worth to invest financial resources on these languages because they are not used by a large number of people. Besides, the government budget is limited and it should be spent on other services. It is acknowledged that government ought to provide funding on public infrastructures or health facilities which benefit people’s basic essentials, rather than dying languages.

To sum up, I would recommend the governments to spend some money for minority languages to maintain human diversity and multi-culture.