Some people say History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like Science and Technology are more important than History.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is considered by some people that Science and Technology should be highlighted in the school curriculum instead of History. I am in accord with the later statement as Science and Technology play a more important role in the life of students in the later stage.

Learning History is essential in building up one's sense of identity; by understanding the culture, practices and customs, people familiarize themselves with the environment they grow up in and strengthen a sense of belonging to the community. Other than national history, people may also broaden their horizons and gain insights from the history of other countries. For example, as World War II is incorporated into the education curriculum, children from all around the world acknowledge the cruelty and disastrous effects of a massive warfare and hence learn not to repeat the same error for the sake of humanity.

Nonetheless, Science and Technology pose a more significant impact on future prospects in terms of practicality. With Artificial Intelligence developing at an unprecedented pace, many jobs are now taken up by machines, such as labour works, accounting, translation, driving, and surgical procedures. It is therefore crucial for people to understand the theories and techniques involved in developing these machines in order to gain an the upper hand in the competition between men and robots in the job market. Furthermore, logical thinking and reasoning, which are often taught and required in Scientific subjects, are better delivered in a systematic structure designed by educators, so as to prepare children for continuation in higher education.

To conclude, while History is beneficial for building up one's identity, Science and Technology is more essential in terms of future prospects and should therefore take the limelight in school curriculum.