Some people say that History is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today's world, subjects like science and Technology are more than important than history.

Some expert claim that, history must be added in curriculum of school and universities as a major subject, while others argue that, college must give more emphasis on modern subjects like science and technology in 21st century. I partially agree with the statement and the essay will examine the arguments on both favor and against on the topic.

To begin with, history is the evidence of human existence with their identity and helps to unify the people. It helps the people to know sense of root and from where they were belonging and contribution of their forefather to develop the united nation. Similarly, history provide the knowledge of past event and how that effect the future generation and not to repeat the same mistake in future. Furthermore, culture, custom, tradition, value, freedom everything are connected with our history and all the thing we are enjoying or suffering are outcome of past.

For instance, our Nepali are known as the “Bir Ghorkhali” in the history of the world is the evidence of history and still British and Indian government admit Nepali youth in their army force to protect their nation. While, at the same time we are suffering from various negative outcome of history as well, like still we are fighting to get our land back from India due to different agreement done by our ancienter.

Secondly, some argue that, in modern era practical knowledge is more important than learning historical data and stories. To compete with the modern world, universities and schools give more focus on science and technology to their students. However, science provide the facts about today world and technology help to increase productivity to upgrade the economy of country. Nowadays, getting opportunity to work in NASA is more important than knowing past. For example, developed country like China, USA, Europe are ruling the world by the help of science and technology.

In conclusion, knowledge of past is also equally important as like modern subject, so the authority should make the balanced curriculum to provide the equal opportunities for all subjects.