Some people say that instead of seeing the internet as a way of opening up new communication possibilities world-wide, we should be concerned about the effect this is having on social interaction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this view?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience or knowledge.

The internet has opened up new methods of communication across the globe. However, some people are worried about the impact this is having on our daily lives. Personally, I think the internet has a detrimental effect on how we socially interact.

I agree that the internet has improved communication in a number of ways. In the modern age families and friends are spread world-wide. Without the advent of email it would be extremely difficult to keep in touch with our peers. For example, in my own experience, my best friend lives in Canada and without email we would have to converse via expensive international telephone calls or letter writing which in turn would mean no instant messaging and a delay in relaying potentially important information.

Nevertheless, the effects of the internet have not been entirely positive. Modern forms of interaction mean that many people feel traditional methods of communication, such as letter writing and conversational skills, are being neglected. This may mean a reduction in the ability of people to socially interact with each other.

Also, the internet can act as an omnipresent distraction. For example, always present instant messaging and social media can be a distraction at home or in the office and can draw a user's attention away from interacting with individuals around them.

In conclusion, I agree that a number of people should be concerned about the effect the internet is having on our ability to interact with one another and this may be damaging to individuals and society in the future if not addressed.