Some people say that it is possible for a country to be both economically successful and have a clean environment. Others disagree. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is true that some countries are trying to balance the economic development and the environmental reservation. However, whether this belief is possible or not is still argumentative.

On the one hand, I would advocate that keeping the economic development with the environmental protection is completely possible. The primary reason for this opinion is that when the government attracts a great deal of the investment from private sectors, including domestic or foreign organizations, they would generate much profit which significantly contributes to the national progress. As a result, the governments would have more money to measure various environmental issues, such as investing in water cleaning systems or constructing more rail services to limit the exhaust from the private vehicles. Besides, a non-polluted environment also brings a vast amount of profit to the very nation as it can be considered an attractive element for the tourism development. In fact, some countries were reputable for the hygienic environment such as Japan or Singapore often attract a huge amount of foreign arrivals annually, which partly helps to boost their economy

Although these reasons mentioned above are justifiable, I am convinced that a successful economy cannot co-exist with the environmental preservation. Firstly, the economic development is often accompanied by the mass production, which directly damages the environment. It is apparent that an increasing number of companies requests a vast amount of forests must be demolished. As a consequence, the natural habitats of wildlife animals will be disappeared, leading to the unsustainable balance ecosystem. An increase in number of vehicles served to the manufacture can be the secondly responsible for this problem. In fact, the businesses have to use a variety of means of transport to deliver goods and this would release a large amount of carbon emissions, causing global warming and rising sea level.

In conclusion, I think whether people accept or not, boosting economy still exercises a negative influence on the environment, therefore the government should produce better policies to balance both of the issues.