Some people say that the only reason for /earning a foreign language Is In order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some individuals believe that people learn the language of another country solely for the purpose of migrating or prospects of employment in that nation while others think there are other reasons to learn a foreign language. While the latter opinion seems plausible, I believe that the primary motivation for learning the language of other nations is for living or having a job in that country.

On the one hand, learning a foreign language could be for educational advancement. The difference in means of learning varies from nation to nation. For instance, the world is now a global stage where a young man living in Batagarawa in Nigeria, where Hausa is the primary language of communication and learning, can dream of schooling in Oxford University in the UK whose medium of instruction is English. For this desire to be fulfilled, the man has to take up learning English in order to receive the necessary education as desired.

On the other hand, to communicate effectively in a new work environment or a foreign community, speaking the language understood by the natives of the area is important. Without a clear understanding of what is being said or how to respond, migrants would find it difficult to adapt to the new area. An example is a friend of mine who migrated to a new locality where a phrase in his local dialect that means ‘good morning’ is interpreted as ‘a masquerade’ amidst his new natives.

In conclusion, there are various reasons to learn the language of another country. However, I am of the opinion that communication, being essential in a new community for living or work, is the primary reason for learning a foreign language.