Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both these views and give your o

Studying a foreign language is compulsory in education systems worldwide because of its importance. Some people argue that foreign language is just suitable for those who want to travel or work abroad; however, others oppose that there are still other reasons to encourage people to learn a foreign language. In my opinion, I do support the latter idea because of several reasons.

On the one hand, the urge to learn a different language is to serve the need for travel or work in a foreign country. From a social perspective, it is extremely important to study the language to integrate into a new environment. Students or employees will find it easier to ask for help from local people when needed or getting along well with neighbors as well. In terms of school or job performance, a foreign language is a necessary tool to boost people work efficiency. In fact, when the language is well-performed, people are far more confident in themselves; therefore, it will be easier to make new friends, carry a project or even imitate local people lifestyle. Consequently, for those who are going to study or work in a foreign country, it is imperative to study the language beforehand.

On the other hand, there are other motives why people should study a foreign language. Firstly, learning a new language helps people enhance their knowledge significantly. In fact, the process of studying a language assists in improving logical thinking and also a problem-solving skill. Moreover, to learn a new language means that people have to learn a new culture, which results in their wider understanding of a new aspect of life. Secondly, we are living in a globalization culture; therefore, the need to study a foreign language is urgent since citizens can work for foreign companies in their own countries. For example, in Vietnam, there are numerous students studying Korean and Japanese in order to work in foreign companies’ branches in Ho Chi Minh City and Ha Noi Capital. Finally, studying a language is also a hobby of many people. They want to study to fulfill their wishes and also for relaxing purpose.

From all the above-mentioned, there are various reasons for people to study a foreign language in addition to study or work abroad. Learners, especially students, should put more effort into the study progress in order to gain great success in the future.