Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language Discuss both these views and give your ow

While many people hold the opinion that people should learn foreign languages only for travelling and working, other’s ideas imply about many reasons to study foreign languages besides above reasons. Although foreign languages support overseas travel and work significantly, I am of the opinion that other purposes should also be taken into consideration.

On the one hand, the benefits of working and travelling that learning foreign languages bring to people are undeniable. Firstly, working abroad with a high level of foreign languages is certain to be more confident in communication among employers and co-workers. This results in a more effective contact among work environment. Furthermore, as regards overseas travel, foreign languages are necessary. When a visitor travels in other countries, languages impact to his or her activities dramatically. For instance, he or she is possible to contact domestic people/indigenous inhabitants or enjoy local activities easily. Besides, visitors are likely to avoid accidents such as going astray or cheating actions by the excellent level of foreign languages.

On the other hand, there are many reasons in order to learn foreign languages. One of the reasons which can be indicated is that learning foreign languages can help the brain to work more effectively. Studying and speaking more than one language are certain to improve thinking the speed of brain because using many kinds of languages can contribute to the quick of reflecting and solving information of brain. Moreover, studying foreign languages is also an ideal method to research other nations’ culture. The culture of a country is usually contained in the languages. Thus, one of the effective ways to learn about a culture is learning languages of the country which own the culture.

In conclusion, while overseas travel and work are suitable reasons to learn foreign languages, it seems to me that studying foreign languages can come from some other reasons which are also suitable for personal purposes.