Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Nowadays, while globalization has become the state-of-the-art trend of this world, people tend to study foreign languages more than they did before. Some people consider that the sole purpose to learn another nation's language is to serve their travelling and working abroad demands. However, there are more reasons to make learners choose languages to study. In the following paragraphs, I would discuss both opinions and from my perspective, I agree with the second statement.

Initially, knowing the local language is an essential need to live in another country. If anyone wants to study or work abroad, they will find it difficult to deal with problems without being fluently understanding the language. For instance, when students receive regulations for the assignment from their tutors, if they can not figure out what their teachers give, they will not complete the homework correctly and may have to redo it. Further, it ought to lead to the fact that overseas students could be ejected from school.

However, not every languages learner choose this area because of working and studying purposes, they want to enrich knowledge about a new culture, experience its traditional rituals. Moreover, it opens the world's door and is helpful for better cognitive development as it stimulates the emergence of neuron connections. For example, without the ability to understand English and Chinese, I would never be able to read the original version of my favourite literature work and have less developed critical thinking.

To summarize, people being multilingual is not only for travelling and working abroad but also for personal purposes. I completely belong to the latter group, as I have gained from the experience of learning non-native languages that goes far beyond employment and passion.