Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In today's world, a sound knowledge of foreign languages is a necessity. While some people believe that leisure and education are the sole purposes of learning foreign languages, other are of the view that there are many other reasons for this practice. In my opinion, the positive aspects of learning language are far more than job and travel. In the following essay, we will analyze both sides of topics.

On one hand, most of the people move overseas in the quest for better jobs. One major criterion for almost every job is the fluency in the local language. For example, doctors employed in the UK are expected to be perfect in understanding and writing English. Thus making it an absolute necessity to learn English. Secondly, nowadays a lot of people go traveling for extended periods of time. The main purpose of this is leisure and cultural exchange. Such activities will be meaningless without the basic knowledge of local languages, which are the key to communication. For instance, in Germany, English is not a common language. Hence the tourists have to take short language courses in order to talk to people in Germany.

On the other hand, in some countries, foreign languages are a part of the curriculum for reasons such as understanding religious transcripts. For example, Arabic is widely taught in most of the Muslim countries to understand the Quran. Moreover, some nations have more than one widely spoken languages. For instance in Canada, major population speaks French, making the knowledge of dual language a necessity.

In conclusion, the knowledge of foreign language is not only required for job and leisure but also for the educational purposes and better communication. It is agreed that learning foreign languages is beneficial in many ways. In future, education institutes should give an option to their student to learn these languages.