Some people say that in our modern age it is unnecessary to teach children about the skill of handwriting To what extent do you agree or disagree

Today we have a lot of technologies helping us to write words or sentences instead of us, so is it necessary to learn handwriting skills? Some people think that learning the skill of handwriting is useless and wastes time, while others see the importance of this skill. In my opinion, I think that children should learn how to write for two reasons: memorization and culture.

Handwriting can help to memorize vocabulary. Many people usually face a problem with memorization when they learn a new thing like vocabulary. They can remember those new vocabs at first; however, in a few days, they will forget every word due to not using them. These problems can be solved by the handwriting skill in that when writing those words, we have to spell the words in our mind. It means that we have to review the words at least two times. The first time is when we read the words, and the second one is when we practice writing. Therefore, we have an opportunity to recap everything more through writing.

Another reason is that it is one of the ways to keep our cultures for the next generation. The correct method of writing a word, which is innovated by our ancestors, will be forgotten since everyone uses only convenient ways to write a word such as typing in a computer, texting a message, and so on. We, thus, will forget how to write in the appropriate method although we still remember those words. For example, if we do not bike a bicycle for a long time, we will not bike it as good as we practiced at the first time. This will happen with the skill of handwriting provided that we ignore to learn how to write.

In conclusion, the handwriting skill is still necessary for our society and descendant. Not only does the skill help us improve memorization, but it also preserves our cultures for children in the future. If we do not teach this important skill to children, we might lose more than the skill.