Some people say that to prevent illness and disease, governments should focus more on reducing environmental pollution and housing problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that the authority should allocate resources to tackling environmental pollution and accommodation, as their improvement can serve as a defense against illnesses. Personally, I entirely concur with this view because of the following reasons.

To begin with, alleviating environmental contamination has been acknowledged to contribute to the prevention of illnesses and diseases. First and foremost, air pollution has been exacerbated in urban areas, and they also lead to a lifted amount of pathogens like particulate matter or exhaust gas. Hence, since they are reportedly the culprits of respiratory and cardiovascular diseases, it is favourable for the government to invest in their eradication, so that the incidence of flu, asthma or heart failure can be reduced. In addition, another northworthy point is that environmental protection also enhances public mental health. In fact, a prime illustration for this is a recent study at Oxford University, which indicates that a less frequent exposure to noise and light pollution can not only mitigate noise and visual impairment, but also lower the risk of depression or autism.

Moreover, along with addressing environmental pollution, housing also plays an important role in preventive medicine. Regarding sanitary conditions, the poorer hygiene standards are, the more likely viruses and bacteria are to exist and proliferate. Thus, not until the government provides funding for clean water provision or waste management can citizens avoid a wide variety of infectious diseases. Additionally, regarding rooms for households, in densely-populated residential areas, a close contact between individuals is obviously inevitable. Consequently, if policy makers fail to provide spacious accommodations to citizens, this may pose a challenge to how contagious diseases are controlled, and the outbreak of an epidemic becomes imminent.

In conclusion, it seems to me that any measure to remedy ecological and housing issues should be viewed as a prophylaxis owing to their impact on various aspects of public health.