Some people say that what children watch influences their behavior. Others believe the amount of time they spend on television influences their behavior most. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is an increasingly growing popular idea that watching TV affects children. While there are strong arguments that the length of time children spend on watching television has a significant impact on them, I strongly believe that the content of programs has a greater influence on the youth.

On the hand, there are a variety drawbacks when children devote much their time to watch TV programs. Firstly, they become addicted to the TV for entertainment like cartoons. As a result, they could fall into a sedentary life and neglect outdoor activities. For instance, in Viet Nam, many busy parents indulge their children by being willing to open any TV program they want, aim to encourage they eat or keep them silent instead of investing their time in soothing them into obedience. Thereby, their sons and daughters have less interaction with parents and people around them. Secondly, if children keep their eyes glued to screens for a period of time, they may suffer from eye-strain. Waves from TV may cause bad consequences such as headaches, the obesity epidemic and type 2 diabetes.

On the other hand, the content of TV is a double-edged sword for young viewers which have the most direct impact on them. For one, it is no doubt that television gives the youth countless opportunities to broaden their knowledge and affects the ways of behaving. Besides, there are myriads of programs that have resulted in a sharp increase in forming bad behaviors. Youngsters learn about alcohol, smoking use and break the law, ergo, the juvenile crime rate is getting rapidly could be taken as a particularly salient example of this.

After discussing all the points mentioned above, I could finally conclude that I would argue that spending a long time on watching TV affect children, I strongly believe that they under the influence of the content more.