To some people, studying the past has little value in the modern world. Why do you think it’s important to do so? What will be the effect if children are not taught history?

Every nation has its own history which reflects a lot about that culture. Many people do not support the idea of teaching history to the students in this hi-tech era. There can be many important aspects that can necessitate learning about the past of any country, on children's development, and its effects if not taught to the children.

To initiate, learning about the past equips the children with their cultural values and traditions, the lack of which can make children less knowledgeable. Children should have a thorough knowledge about the history and culture of their country so that they can find themselves part and parcel of that country. Devoid of this knowledge, the children will feel as if they are aliens to any place. For instance,history being taught as a compulsory subject in secondary education in India, develops a sense of patriotism among the children and they understand what cost their elders had to pay for attaining the independence. They also know about the rich culture and traditions of their forefathers which, in fact, is important for their own identity.

Following the first, learning about the past is important for even the economists and many historian to learn about the trends of any particular field. To substantiate, it is vital to learn about the past history of the economy of any country in order to make the future plans. If we do not have any records of the past, we can never make any future plans because human beings tend to learn from past mistakes. Any growth or de-growth of any economy, largely depends on the history and the economy of the past paving way for future. Comparisons can only be made by the children, if past is taught to them and they have relevant information.

On the flip side, it can be said that in-depth teaching of history depends on the stream that children have opted in their studies. For example, children who are basically studying science do not need to study much about the history, only general history for their knowledge would suffice. But on the other hand, children who are into humanities, need to have sufficient knowledge about history as it would affect their future.

To draw the conclusion, history is an important subject for most of the students, but the level of studies largely depends on the academic field the students are pursuing.