Some people suggest that a country should try to produce all the food for its population and import as little food as possible.

Nowadays, several countries believe that they should concentrate on producing foods supply for the people and transport it for the economy as little as possible. In my opinion, I completely agree with this point of view.

Firstly, The demand for food in a nation is extremely high and this will create major opportunities for local people to work in farming and food processing industries which can resolve the unemployment problems. For example, In Indonesia, nearly half of the people work in the farming sector. Secondly, If a nation has capable to provide for all the citizens, both the Economy and Security will balance and develop strongly. Besides, mass production of all kinds of food items, a country can prepare for any worst disasters. For instance, in Vietnam, when a flood happens on the central side of the country, the government shall take the nation’s food which helps and encourage these unfortunate people to overcome this bad time. Moreover, Food import includes transportation costs, taxation, and other fees which increase the price of foods. This makes it the numerous people who have low income will hard to purchase food. Furthermore, imported food does not have the same quality and freshness as the local markets provide. If transport the food crates for a high distance and long period of time, the value of the food might degrade, and in some cases, toxic chemicals can appear when they expired.

In conclusion, A good nation is a country that they have well prepared for the food crisis, therefore the government has the authority to produce mass foods for every household before deciding on import.